Elliott’s First Birthday

We traveled home to Columbus this past weekend to celebrate Elliott’s first birthday. It was definitely a bittersweet day and I guess you could say it’s been a bittersweet year. The whole year has been a celebration of firsts, his first smile and laugh, eating solid foods for the first time, his first roll over and crawl, and while I’ve looked forward to all of those firsts, it also means that he is growing up and is becoming less of a baby and more of a little boy. We have tons of pictures of his first year and when I look through them (which we do constantly) it makes me sad. He no longer falls asleep on my chest like he used to and now he usually pushes me away when I try to snuggle with him. 

 ^^^day one^^^

 ^^^one of my favorite photos of baby elliott^^^

I know it’s all about him gaining his independence and that he’ll still need me and want me, but it still makes me sad to think that he’ll never be a baby again. Dean and I talk a lot about what it’s going to be like when Elliott’s a little older, like how fun it will be to watch him play t-ball and how excited we are to take him places when he can really enjoy them. But after this weekend, I don’t want to rush anything at all. I want to savor this 1 year old and his giggles, and even his new found tantrums when he doesn’t get his way, because he’s only going to be this little once. Happy birthday little buddy, you’re the best around!

^^^the birthday boy enjoying some Schmidt’s^^^

^^^birthday cream puff time!^^^

^^^grandpa grundei^^^

^^^playing with his new “smart phone”^^^

^^^happy boy^^^

^^^not so happy anymore^^^

^^^our lame last minute attempt at a family picture^^^

 

Leave a Reply

